You can reset your Nest camera and restore it to factory settings. When should you do something?
Resetting can offer the solution if, for example, your camera image freezes, if you have problems connecting the Wi-Fi, or if the camera does not work (properly). Your settings are saved and the camera reconnects to the WiFi.
How do you do that?
- Unplug the power cord.
- Wait 10 seconds.
- Plug in the power cord again.
Has your problem not been solved? Then we recommend putting everything back to the factory settings. Beware: by doing so, you lose your personal settings.
How do you do this?
Make sure you are close to your camera so that you can press the reset button. You can find this on the front under the Nest logo.
Follow the steps below:
- Make sure your camera is plugged in.
- Go to "settings" Make a note of your settings or take a screenshot so that you can reset them.
- Press and hold the reset button with a paper clip. Your camera then makes a noise and and you’ll see a rotating yellow light. If you see a blue light, you can release the button. The light will then go out.
Note: If you want to cancel the reset, release the reset button when the light gives a rotating yellow light.
- The reset is complete when your camera emits a light pulsating blue light.
- After the reset, you will see the camera "offline" in your Nest app. This stays that way until you remove the camera from your app.
- Go to the home page of your app and click on the camera that you have reset.
- Click on " settings". Scroll down and choose " remove camera" and click on "confirm choice"
- You will receive an e-mail from Nest that your camera has been removed from your account. If you want to add your camera again, you must perform the installation setup again.